0 product(en) in winkelwagen




New Orleans Funk 4

Type dragerCD (aantal 1)
Release datum24 november 2016
LevertijdUit voorraad leverbaar 1-2 werkdagen
€ 18,99


Soul Jazz Records' latest crate-digging excursion into the Crescent City vaults delves deep into the roots and history of the voodoo world of New Orleans Funk and as ever features a stellar selection of killer rare funk and soul!

The album is jam-packed with serious break-heavy, heavyweight funk tunes from classic New Orleans artists including Eddie Bo, Betty Harris, Dave Bartholomew, Johnny Adams and Eldridge Holmes (with the ever-present Allen Toussaint and The Meters as always behind the scenes). There is also a host of rare cuts from a number of lesser-known second line New Orleans artists, whose fame rarely reached past the walls of the city, including Gus ‘The Groove’ Lewis, James K-Nine, Norma Jean, Bob French, Chuck Colbert, Zilla Mayes and Joe Haywood.

In the 1960s the syncopated beat of New Orleans Funk developed out of a gumbo mix of New Orleans local flavours – rhythm and blues, Mardi Gras Indians, the street percussion Second Line of the Jazz Funeral and Marching bands, Caribbean rhumba and mambo rhythms – all of which are in full effect. Even Zydeco, the rhythm and blues offspring of Louisiana Cajun music, had the funk as the King of Zydeco, Clifton Chenier, shows us here.

New Orleans music and Voodoo both have their roots in the African-American free black and slave gatherings held at Congo Square from the 18th century onwards. Here Voodoo king Doctor John (the original one!) and Voodoo queen Marie Levaux held court over their followers, and here also could be heard the first sounds of New Orleans jazz music. Soul Jazz Records’ latest album describes how these two cultural forms are inextricably inter-related.

The album traces the path of funk from the very first glimpses of the style – Dave Bartholomew’s super-tight ‘The Monkey’ (recorded in 1957) and James Waynes’ junkie jailbird anthem ‘Junco Partner’ (1951, later covered by Dr John, Professor Longhair, James Booker, and The Clash) through to the 1970s heavyweight boogie funk of Chocolate Milk’s rare groove classic Action Speak Louder Than Words and The Baron’s ‘Making It Better’.

Also featured is a selection of hard-core classic funk productions from the legendary Eddie Bo (James K-Nine, David Robinson) and the genius of Allen Toussaint (Eldridge Holmes, Gus ‘The Groove’ Lewis, Lou Johnson). There also a number of super-rare independent New Orleans’ one-off 45 single funk productions from the likes of Chick Colbert and Bob French. And lastly, New Orleans Funk female vocalists are in full effect with tracks by Betty Harris (whose ‘Lost Queen of New Orleans Soul’ has just come out on Soul Jazz Records), Zilla Mayes and Norma Jean.

This album is released as a heavyweight double gatefold vinyl (+ download code), CD pack and digital album, and comes with extensive sleeve-notes and exclusive photography.


1. Eldridge Holmes - Pop, Popcorn Children (2.51)
2. Gus 'The Groove' Lewis - Let The Groove Move You (2.53)
3. Dave Bartholomew - The Monkey (2.26)
4. Chocolate Milk - Action Speaks Louder Than Words (3.30)
1. James K-Nine - Live It Up (2.49)
2. Lou Johnson - Frisco Here I Come (2.51)
3. Norma Jean - No Competition (2.26)
4. James Waynes - Junco Partner (Worthless Man) (2.26)
5. David Robinson - I'm A Carpenter (Part 1) (2.13)
1. The Barons Ltd - Making It Better (2.14)
2. Johnny Adams - You Make A New Man Out Of Me (2.53)
3. Clifton Chenier and his Red Hot Louisiana Band - Party Down (4.33)
4. Eddie Bo - Can You Handle It (2.41)
1. Bob French's Storyville Jazz Band - Y'er Comes The Funky Man (2.33)
2. Joe Haywood - Play Me A Cornbread Song (2.36)
3. Betty Harris - I'm Gonna Git Ya (2.16)
4. Chuck Colbert & Viewpoint - Stay (2.43)
5. Zilla Mayes - All I Want Is You (2.10)


CD1 / 1:
1. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Pop, Popcorn Children [02:51]
2. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Let The Groove Move You [02:53]
3. Klik hier om te beluisteren..The Monkey [02:26]
4. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Action Speaks Louder Than Words [03:30]
5. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Live It Up [02:49]
6. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Frisco Here I Come [02:51]
7. Klik hier om te beluisteren..No Competition [02:25]
8. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Junco Partner(worthless Man) [02:26]
9. Klik hier om te beluisteren..I'm A Carpenter(part 1) [02:13]
10. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Making It Better [02:14]
11. Klik hier om te beluisteren..You Make A New Man Out Of Me [02:53]
12. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Party Down [04:33]
13. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Can You Handle It [02:41]
14. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Y'er Comes The Funky Man [02:33]
15. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Play Me A Cornbread Song [02:36]
16. Klik hier om te beluisteren..I'm Gonna Git Ya [02:16]
17. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Stay [02:43]
18. Klik hier om te beluisteren..All I Want Is You [02:10]

meer van deze artiest

er nieuwe vinyl aanbiedingen!!!
Eric Clapton - Guns 'n' Roses - Dr. Dre - Velvet Underground etc.

De zomervakanties beginnen en we zorgen dan altijd voor extra veel aanbiedingen in onze winkel.

Niet alleen vinyl maar ook cd en dvd aanbiedingen natuurlijk.
Weer nieuwe vinyl aanbiedingen!!!
Eric Clapton - Guns 'n' Roses - Dr. Dre - Velvet Underground etc.

De zomervakanties beginnen en we zorgen dan altijd voor extra veel aanbiedingen in onze winkel.

Niet alleen vinyl maar ook cd en dvd aanbiedingen natuurlijk.

Gewijzigde openingstijden

Met carnaval zijn we helaas gesloten van zaterdag 22 februari tot en met dinsdag 25 februari.

Wir sind leider während des Karnevals vom Samstag, 22. Februar bis Dienstag, 25. Februar geschlossen.

Woensdag 26 februari gewoon open :)


Schrijf je in en ontvang wekelijks info over nieuwe releases, speciale 'Sounds' tips, vergeten klassiekers, vinyl van de week, instores, aanbiedingen etc.



Meer info


Aanbevolen PODCASTS


Restaurant BIJ DE BUREN in onze winkel.