0 product(en) in winkelwagen


Meer info



meer info


aanbevolen PODCASTS


Restaurant BIJ DE BUREN in onze winkel.


Eva de Roovere
zaterdag 24 aug. 15.00 uur

The Slow Show
zaterdag 31 aug. 12.00 uur

I am oak
zaterdag 7 sept. 13.00 uur

meer info




Soul In Harmony

Type dragerCD (aantal 1)
Release datum29 november 2013
LevertijdUit voorraad leverbaar 1-2 werkdagen
€ 16,99
er nieuwe vinyl aanbiedingen!!!
Eric Clapton - Guns 'n' Roses - Dr. Dre - Velvet Underground etc.

De zomervakanties beginnen en we zorgen dan altijd voor extra veel aanbiedingen in onze winkel.

Niet alleen vinyl maar ook cd en dvd aanbiedingen natuurlijk.
Weer nieuwe vinyl aanbiedingen!!!
Eric Clapton - Guns 'n' Roses - Dr. Dre - Velvet Underground etc.

De zomervakanties beginnen en we zorgen dan altijd voor extra veel aanbiedingen in onze winkel.

Niet alleen vinyl maar ook cd en dvd aanbiedingen natuurlijk.


zaterdag 24 augustus

Tim Knol & The Blue grass boogiemen
The Slow Show
Malford Milligan & The Southern Aces

zaterdag 31 augustus

meer info


  • = VOCAL GROUPS 1967-1977 =

Kent has a long tradition in presenting the best of soul group harmony recordings. 25 years ago we came up with the LP “Great Sixties Soul Groups” and in the digital age Ady gathered together 24 Impressions sound-a-likes on “Impressed” and Tony followed with his two “Perfect Harmony” CDs. The last of those was issued in 2005, so this new volume is long overdue. 

The time span is wide with a fascinating alternate take of the Mad Lads ‘Don’t Have To Shop Around’ from 1965 while a late switch of tracks when we faced some licensing difficulties meant a 1984 track by the superb Detroit vocal outfit Nightchill was included at the last minute. We feel certain that our aural license will be forgiven once the track is heard. 

Only four of the acts have appeared on previous volumes of the Harmony series and only three of the recordings have been compiled onto Ace CDs before and so the majority are digitalised for the first time. 

Major attractions include the Dynamic Soul Machine’s original version of the Sam Dees and Frederick Knight song ‘Boom-A-Rang’, also covered by Corey Blake as ‘Your Love Is Like A Boomerang’. The Four Sonics take on Dusty’s ‘You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me’ was an inspired cover choice and a big R&B record two years after the hit. Also from Detroit comes the Dramatics first Volt 45, ‘Since I’ve Been In Love’, making its CD debut. 

Harmony certainly does not only feature in ballads. The offerings of Philly’s Festivals and Detroit’s Brothers Of Soul are mid-tempo movers of the highest vocal and musical quality. 

How the Pretenders never had an R&B hit is a mystery. Their beautiful ‘Just You Wait And See’ didn’t make it onto our Carnival CDs but fits in perfectly here. For the many soul group collectors who came to the music through doo wop the inclusion of the very scarce and expensive Flodavieur 45 by the Inconquerables will be welcome with its echoes of the 50s in ‘Wait For Me’ as there is with the Imaginations melodious ‘Strange Voice’, remixed from the original multi-track tape. Tape talk neatly brings in the quarter of the album never heard before. Dave Hamilton’s Detroit studios supply the Webb People ‘Who’s The Biggest Fool’ and the Nightchill number ‘Once Again’. If we add his rare TCB-pressed ‘Heavenly Thing’ by the Mark-Keys we can see how deeply he was into this sound. 

New York producer David Blake is the link between the Stylistics-sounding Radiations ‘Love Be Not A Stranger’, released on Valise Records, possibly sung at an even higher pitch than their mentors could manage, and the Quotations whom he produced for DiVenus Records. Their ‘Anytime You Want Me’ has a slick 60s Big Apple production but missed release when the label folded. 

The soul harmony sound is most often performed by men but here we have two excellent renditions by girl groups. Carnival’s Joe Evans excelled at this style of soul and released ‘Need Someone To Love’ on both Norma Jenkins and the Symphonies, whose group arrangement we chose. We have also added a delicate, unreleased ballad by the Lovettes, ‘I’ll Be Waiting’, its gentle harmonies the perfect ending to this latest Kent offering. (tekst: Ady Croasdell and Tony Rounce 


CD1 / 1:
1. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Strange Voice [02:40]
2. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Boom-A-Rang [03:34]
3. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Baby (there Is Nothing You Can Do) [02:58]
4. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Since I've Been In Love [02:41]
5. Klik hier om te beluisteren..You Don't Have To Say You Love Me [02:57]
6. Klik hier om te beluisteren..We Can Make It Baby [02:59]
7. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Who's The Biggest Fool [02:36]
8. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Just You Wait And See [03:55]
9. Klik hier om te beluisteren..That Day When She Needed Me [02:41]
10. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Be By Your Side [02:23]
11. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Don't Have To Shop Around [02:45]
12. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Anytime That You Want Me [02:36]
13. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Waiting For Your Love [02:47]
14. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Once Again [03:24]
15. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Wait For Me [02:32]
16. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Take Your Time [03:23]
17. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Can't Get You Off My Mind [01:59]
18. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Need Someone To Love [03:10]
19. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Ooh, Baby Baby [03:04]
20. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Love Be Not A Stranger [03:05]
21. Klik hier om te beluisteren..I won't Stand In Your Way [02:46]
22. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Linda [02:50]
23. Klik hier om te beluisteren..Heavenly Thing [03:48]
24. Klik hier om te beluisteren..I'll Be Waiting [03:22]

meer van deze artiest